Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Reigster at Galaxy S3 Forums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: Cyanogen mod 11

Member #
    Liked
    6 times
    Device
    International GT-I9300

Cyanogen mod 11

So guys, I have finally rooted my s3 (international version) after the warranty expired a week ago.
    Have installed CWM and am in a search of ROM for it now.

For now I have decided to flash CM 11, but have few doubts about it:
    Should I install m9 snapshot or m10 snapshot? I read it on reddit that m10 is not stable, so should I go for m9 instead for now?
    And the zip file from their official site is around 212 MB, so does this zip file contain gaaps? If no, then where can I find the gaaps file for cm 11 m9 snapshot version?
    I am kinda new to these things so sorry for being so noob.

And since I am flashing a rom for the first time, do I need to do anything else other than these steps:
    1. Backup current rom using recovery.
    2. Copy the zip file of the cm 11 rom in SD card.
    3. Reboot into recovery, clear data, clear cache and clear dalvik cache.
    4. Flash rom and gaaps(if not included in rom).
    Rosalie likes this.

Member #
    Liked
    2285 times
    Device
    United States SGH-I747
    Hi deepanshuchg. Welcome to the Forum and congrats on rooting your S3! It's a great feeling to have the control and freedom that rooting brings. Enjoy!

I'm sure some of our that members who use CM ROMs will weigh in and give you some info, but I know one additional thing I'd do before flashing a ROM, if you haven't already done so, is to install Titanium Backup and do a backup of your user apps and their data.

As far as the files, I'm sure someone will point you to a reliable place to get them, but in the mean time you might want to read through the documentation and links on their official site
    http://www.cyanogenmod.org/about

Member #
    Liked
    6 times
    Device
    International GT-I9300