Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Reigster at Galaxy S3 Forums
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: How to properly disable OTA updates on verizon S3?

  1. #1
    Junior Member burpootus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    572
    Liked
    1 times

    How to properly disable OTA updates on verizon S3?

    The title says it all. Been searching the web with no luck. Verizon OTA's are notorious for breaking exploits on an encrypted device. Need to wait on devs to repackage updates. Anyone know how to do this?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    The great northern wastes of NY state near Fort Drum.
    Posts
    2,182
    Member #
    332
    Liked
    594 times
    Welcome to the forum!

    I wouldn't worry about an update for a couple of weeks. I'm sure someone can tell you what to deactivate for now for peace of mind, though.
    Due to the lack of robots, our staff contains the occasional human being which may respond unpredictably to being abused. Please, be considerate so as to avoid unpredictable responses.

    Hey, did you know I'm an author? I am. Curious? Check out my author page on Amazon or my blog.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Debian Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Powhatan, VA
    Posts
    817
    Member #
    179
    Liked
    163 times
    Twitter
    DebianDog
    Freeze FWupgrade


  4. #4
    Administrator CR6's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    14,756
    Member #
    19
    Liked
    7792 times
    Device
    United States SCH-I535
    The only way to do this is to root first before activating your phone right? Hopefully there will be a way to do this soon for those people that have already activated.



    Welcome to the Galaxy S3 Forums!

    Guidelines of Conduct




  5. #5
    Super Moderator furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    The great northern wastes of NY state near Fort Drum.
    Posts
    2,182
    Member #
    332
    Liked
    594 times
    Quote Originally Posted by CR6 View Post
    The only way to do this is to root first before activating your phone right? Hopefully there will be a way to do this soon for those people that have already activated.
    Worst case scenario you'll probably have to ODIN back with the base image file. That's my guess.
    Due to the lack of robots, our staff contains the occasional human being which may respond unpredictably to being abused. Please, be considerate so as to avoid unpredictable responses.

    Hey, did you know I'm an author? I am. Curious? Check out my author page on Amazon or my blog.

  6. #6
    Senior Member Debian Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Powhatan, VA
    Posts
    817
    Member #
    179
    Liked
    163 times
    Twitter
    DebianDog
    Yes back in the day on my Droid - worse case you would lose root if you took the OTA
    furbearingmammal likes this.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Mujibar's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    7,635
    Member #
    11
    Liked
    3088 times
    Device
    none
    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    Worst case scenario you'll probably have to ODIN back with the base image file. That's my guess.
    Yup. Make sure y'all download the stock image and the newest Odin. I got mine here.
    furbearingmammal likes this.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Eric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    384
    Member #
    309
    Liked
    57 times
    You can root after activation.
    furbearingmammal likes this.

  9. #9
    Junior Member burpootus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    3
    Member #
    572
    Liked
    1 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Debian Dog View Post
    Freeze FWupgrade

    Thanks, will disable.

    FWIW, on the DroidX, several of the updates also updated the bootloader so that once you were on that firmware you couldn't go back. There's a good chance that all these original image files we're saving for the S3 will be worthless in the coming months as the stock kernel changes, along with the corresponding encrypted firmware. I guess it would be more accurate to say they will be worthless if you want to move forward.
    Last edited by burpootus; 07-10-2012 at 07:21 PM.
    spodoc likes this.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator spodoc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    4,722
    Member #
    305
    Liked
    3111 times
    Device
    United States SCH-I535
    Quote Originally Posted by burpootus View Post
    Thanks, will disable.

    FWIW, on the DroidX, several of the updates also updated the bootloader so that once you were on that firmware you couldn't go back. There's a good chance that all these original image files we're saving for the S3 will be worthless in the coming months as the stock kernel changes, along with the corresponding encrypted firmware. I guess it would be more accurate to say they will be worthless if you want to move forward.
    Truer words will probably never be said. Folks who did not own a DX in the early days (Summer/Fall 2010 eclair and froyo updates) or during the most recent 621 update are probably not aware of how sneaky VZW can be. I, for one, will never take an OTA by choice again. EVER.
    greevedogg likes this.


 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

can i stop verizon update to galaxy s3
,
how to stop verizon update galaxy s3
,
how to undo ota verizon s3
,
removing sdm 1.0 from samsung
,
sdm 1.0 app
,
sdm app galaxy s3
,

sdm version 1.0

,
stop ota update message on galaxy s3
,
stop system update galaxy s3
,
stop verizon ota updates
,
verizon galaxy s3 stop software update
,
what is sdm version 1.0
Click on a term to search for related topics.