Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Reigster at Galaxy S3 Forums
Results 1 to 6 of 6
Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By G-Man
  • 1 Post By Goose306

Thread: how to flash sprint galaxy s3 to metro pcs

  1. #1
    Junior Member breakmental's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    9
    Member #
    6101
    Liked
    2 times
    Device
    United States SCH-R530

    how to flash sprint galaxy s3 to metro pcs

    how to flash sprint galaxy s3 to metro pcs.my sis got a s3 from sprint .but she want to know how can she change the phone to metro PCs .plzz help .and if u can can u do a tutorial .on how to do it

  2. #2
    Super Moderator UltraDroid's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast
    Posts
    13,444
    Member #
    13
    Liked
    7310 times
    Device
    United States SGH-I747
    I don't believe that you can take a Sprint phone and move it to Metro PCS. Apparently, Metro is affiliated with T-Mobile, and T-Mobile along with AT&T uses GSM as their format for delivering phone service. The phone your sister has, if it came from Sprint, uses a system called CDMA for delivering phone service and the two systems are totally incompatible. At least, that's my feeling, but I'm not a technician so I might be completely wrong on that point.

    Hang on for a bit and let some of our more technically knowledgeable staff members chime in on this point.
    GSM Galaxy Note 3 (Black) - Straight Stock
    GSM Galaxy Note 2 (Titanium) - Rooted running Jedi X20 Rom
    GSM Galaxy Nexus (Black) - Straight Stock

    GSM Samsung Galaxy S3 (Red) - Rooted running Deadly Venom v8.0.1 Rom

  3. #3
    Senior Member G-Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    437
    Member #
    481
    Liked
    358 times
    Device
    United States SGH-I747
    Quote Originally Posted by UltraDroid View Post
    I don't believe that you can take a Sprint phone and move it to Metro PCS. Apparently, Metro is affiliated with T-Mobile, and T-Mobile along with AT&T uses GSM as their format for delivering phone service. The phone your sister has, if it came from Sprint, uses a system called CDMA for delivering phone service and the two systems are totally incompatible. At least, that's my feeling, but I'm not a technician so I might be completely wrong on that point.

    Hang on for a bit and let some of our more technically knowledgeable staff members chime in on this point.
    You are correct Ultra... cdma and gsm are not backward compatible. They are designed for either gsm, or cdma and cannot be interchanged.
    UltraDroid likes this.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Goose306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Missoula, MT
    Posts
    1,093
    Member #
    212
    Liked
    922 times
    Device
    United States SCH-I535
    The CDMA S3s have global GSM radios in them. At least the Verizon S3. I believe people were able to get voice text but no data (or vice versa) with the Verizon S3 on AT&T. Pretty sure it was data not working as the Verizon S3 lacks an HSPA radio in the correct bands to get the signal. I am not sure of the Sprint model, although it will likely be a PITA to get going, if you can at all.

    If you want to swap it it may be easier posting it online and seeing if someone with a MetroPCS version would like to change. T-Mobile only recently bought MetroPCS around the beginning of May, and previously they operated on CDMA bands. I know this as my old phone (Droid X) could be flashed to MetroPCS.

    So it may be possible, however this is far from my area of expertise. I have only done some basic work in QPST and CDMA workshop, and you will likely need to use both. Your best friend would be Google. Be very careful when messing with this stuff as things changed in QPST and the like can cause big problems if you aren't careful.


  5. #5
    Super Moderator Goose306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Missoula, MT
    Posts
    1,093
    Member #
    212
    Liked
    922 times
    Device
    United States SCH-I535
    Here's a guide to flash a Sprint S3 to MetroPCS. I don't know if this will still work due to the T-Mo merger, and this is written for ICS so you would need to downgrade or find a JB guide. Its pretty daunting if you've never fooled with this stuff before:

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2225443


  6. #6
    Super Moderator grenefroggie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    3,163
    Member #
    40
    Liked
    1895 times
    Device
    other
    If I am not mistaken, T-Mo will still operate the MPCS CDMA network as the task for changing over the amount of MPCS clients to GSM would be a nightmare. Over time as people start getting new phones there is a good chance they will be GSM and eventually phase out the CDMA network.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk 2


 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. how to root your galaxy s3 metro pcs 4.1.2 jelly bean
    By breakmental in forum Galaxy S3 Help
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-10-2013, 10:30 PM
  2. [I9300] Samsung Galaxy S3 ZSEMA1 uses ODIN to flash JB 4.1.2
    By Jeffrey in forum Member News Depot
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-21-2013, 04:46 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-11-2012, 10:19 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-22-2012, 10:03 PM
  5. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-03-2012, 07:26 PM

Search tags for this page

can a sprint galaxy s3 be used on metro pcs
,
can you connect a sprint galaxy s3 to metro pcs
,
can you flash a sprint galaxy 3 to metro pcs with a balance
,

flash sprint galaxy s3 to metro pcs

,
flashing sprint galaxy s3 to metro pcs
,
how to flash a sprint phone to metro
,
how to flash my galaxy s3 to metro pcs
,
how to flash my sprint galaxy s3 to metro pcs
,
how to flash sprint s3 to metro pcs
,
sprint galaxy s3 to metro pcs
,

unlock sprint galaxy s3 for metro pcs

,
verizon s3 to metro pcs
Click on a term to search for related topics.