Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Reigster at Galaxy S3 Forums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: GPS Navigation

  1. #1
    Junior Member drsaidalavi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1
    Member #
    339

    GPS Navigation

    Hello,
    I want to buy Galaxy S3. I want to know is there any free Gps navigation with maps available in Galaxy S3 as it is in the latest Nokia Phones? Is it work without internet connections?
    If not what is the best Navigation software available for S3 phone?

    Kindly reply

    Thanking Ypu

    Dr.Saidalavi

  2. #2
    Senior Member Mr_Trebus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    181
    Member #
    152
    Liked
    38 times
    Twitter
    @mr_trebus
    Navfree works without internet I think....

    Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

  3. #3
    Super Moderator furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    The great northern wastes of NY state near Fort Drum.
    Posts
    2,182
    Member #
    332
    Liked
    594 times
    Download Google Maps from the Play Store. GPS turn-by-turn navigation is included free via "Navigation", which is installed with. It requires a data connection to start with, but it caches the map so a steady data connection is not required during travel.

  4. #4
    Administrator CR6's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    14,950
    Member #
    19
    Liked
    7941 times
    Device
    United States SCH-I535
    Welcome to the forum Dr.



    Welcome to the Galaxy S3 Forums!

    Guidelines of Conduct




  5. #5
    Senior Member Mr_Trebus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    181
    Member #
    152
    Liked
    38 times
    Twitter
    @mr_trebus
    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    Download Google Maps from the Play Store. GPS turn-by-turn navigation is included free via "Navigation", which is installed with. It requires a data connection to start with, but it caches the map so a steady data connection is not required during travel.
    A note of caution here - if you try to find a route in an area of poor data connection this will NOT work !!! - so do not rely on it !!! Google Maps needs a data connection to set the route and to cache the route. Other than that it's great

  6. #6
    Super Moderator UltraDroid's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio - The North Coast
    Posts
    13,616
    Member #
    13
    Liked
    7423 times
    Device
    United States SGH-I747
    Welcome to the forum Doc! We are delighted to have you as a member.
    GSM Galaxy Note 3 (Black) - Straight Stock
    GSM Galaxy Note 2 (Titanium) - Rooted running Jedi X20 Rom
    GSM Galaxy Nexus (Black) - Straight Stock

    GSM Samsung Galaxy S3 (Red) - Rooted running Deadly Venom v8.0.1 Rom

  7. #7
    Super Moderator furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    The great northern wastes of NY state near Fort Drum.
    Posts
    2,182
    Member #
    332
    Liked
    594 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Trebus View Post
    A note of caution here - if you try to find a route in an area of poor data connection this will NOT work !!! - so do not rely on it !!! Google Maps needs a data connection to set the route and to cache the route. Other than that it's great
    I think I covered that when I said it requires a data connection to start with, and WiFi works beautifully if you have access to it. As long as you don't stray too far from the route when it's set you should be alright without needing very good cellular signal en route. Thanks for drawing further attention to it, though. Sometimes people skim and they miss small details. I know I'm guilty of that on occasion!

  8. #8
    Senior Member Mr_Trebus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    181
    Member #
    152
    Liked
    38 times
    Twitter
    @mr_trebus
    Quote Originally Posted by furbearingmammal View Post
    I think I covered that when I said it requires a data connection to start with, and WiFi works beautifully if you have access to it. As long as you don't stray too far from the route when it's set you should be alright without needing very good cellular signal en route. Thanks for drawing further attention to it, though. Sometimes people skim and they miss small details. I know I'm guilty of that on occasion!
    Maybe covered. Having spent the first week with my line in an area with very poor data coverage, and no wifi I can honestly say you need to exercise caution before relying On this app.

    I also found it regularly lost route in the area even after it found one - and took a good deal of time to find it again. I could drive 6-8 miles before it fund me !!

    It's good yes, but the OP wanted a nav app for free without the need for data


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

  9. #9
    Super Moderator furbearingmammal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    The great northern wastes of NY state near Fort Drum.
    Posts
    2,182
    Member #
    332
    Liked
    594 times
    Going to need data no matter what, even if it's just for the initial install.

    I haven't had a problem with Maps/Nav data-sucking or losing a route while I'm traveling in months. One of the major updates to the apps cured it for me, but I'm also in the US. I forget that other areas aren't as intensively mapped as we are on Google's servers.

    Another option, if it's available in [your] country is Gaia GPS. I think that downloads nearly a gig at first, though, caching maps on your SD card. Been a while since I used it since Maps/Nav works so well for me.

  10. #10
    Senior Member Mr_Trebus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Cheshire, UK
    Posts
    181
    Member #
    152
    Liked
    38 times
    Twitter
    @mr_trebus
    I think data for the install is a given.

    The area I was n is mapped fine on Google servers. it's in the UK, not the outback. It just suffers with a poor data connection on the network I am on. So the app will not work.

    Other apps download full maps and use GPS to locate - no need for data once running. A true sat-nav if you like. Downside is the storage of course - GB of maps you will most likely never need. It's a balance.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
    furbearingmammal likes this.


 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

can you use gps on gs3 without data
,
does gps use dat verizon samsung gs3
,
does gps use data on galaxy s3
,

does navigation on galaxy s3 use data

,
does using google maps on a galaxy s3 use data
,
finding nav setting google maps s3
,
galaxy s3 does gps work without network
,
galaxy s3 gps navigation system
,
how to navigate using samsung s3 without using data
,
how to use gps in s3 without internet
,
samsung galaxy s3 gps navigation free
,
start gps samsung s3
Click on a term to search for related topics.