Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Reigster at Galaxy S3 Forums
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member TDownT23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Rome, NY
    Posts
    3,035
    Member #
    2021
    Liked
    691 times
    Device
    United States SCH-I535

    change device name that shows up on wireless router

    So I have read a little bit about this. But can't find anything for the GS3. Is there a way to change the device name that shows up on a wifi router? Maybe I can change it to say something other than Android etc. any help would be appreciated...

  2. #2
    Developer Miller6386's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Beer Tent Capital of The World
    Posts
    6,733
    Member #
    1730
    Liked
    2882 times
    Twitter
    CoreyFMiller
    Device
    other
    Best option is to log into your router and change the Display name there.. Then anytime you log onto that router the router will see your MAC address and automatically change the display name on your network.... You can change it on the phone but I don't think it will show different on the router

    Settings>More Settings> Nearby Devices>Device name...

  3. #3
    Senior Member TDownT23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Rome, NY
    Posts
    3,035
    Member #
    2021
    Liked
    691 times
    Device
    United States SCH-I535
    that doesn't change the device name that shows up on a wireless router. the name is something like Android.13l;kj412poi3e1230-89we or something long like that. i'd like to change it to like apple something or other.

    and it's a work router. so i can't log in:-)

  4. #4
    Developer Miller6386's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Beer Tent Capital of The World
    Posts
    6,733
    Member #
    1730
    Liked
    2882 times
    Twitter
    CoreyFMiller
    Device
    other
    I am sure if you could locate that line of code in the phone and change it there it would work but there is no easy fix.... I have NO idea where it would even be... Could ask the DEV of your ROM if maybe they have some insight on where to look.. If someone can narrow it down for me I will be more than happy to walk you through the steps of changing it.

  5. #5
    Senior Member TDownT23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Rome, NY
    Posts
    3,035
    Member #
    2021
    Liked
    691 times
    Device
    United States SCH-I535
    Quote Originally Posted by Miller6386 View Post
    I am sure if you could locate that line of code in the phone and change it there it would work but there is no easy fix.... I have NO idea where it would even be... Could ask the DEV of your ROM if maybe they have some insight on where to look.. If someone can narrow it down for me I will be more than happy to walk you through the steps of changing it.
    i see so it's not just a simple task. a one click app or something:-)

  6. #6
    Developer Miller6386's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Beer Tent Capital of The World
    Posts
    6,733
    Member #
    1730
    Liked
    2882 times
    Twitter
    CoreyFMiller
    Device
    other
    Ok lets try this Settings> Wifi> Wifi Direct (at the bottom) Menu key Change name... See if that will do it....

  7. #7
    Senior Member TDownT23's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Rome, NY
    Posts
    3,035
    Member #
    2021
    Liked
    691 times
    Device
    United States SCH-I535
    Quote Originally Posted by Miller6386 View Post
    Ok lets try this Settings> Wifi> Wifi Direct (at the bottom) Menu key Change name... See if that will do it....
    nope i tried that twice.

  8. #8
    Developer Miller6386's Avatar

    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Beer Tent Capital of The World
    Posts
    6,733
    Member #
    1730
    Liked
    2882 times
    Twitter
    CoreyFMiller
    Device
    other
    Did you restart the phone afterwards? It may also be stored in the router so that may have to be restarted also.... I know its an office router and probably can't but....

  9. #9
    Administrator CR6's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    14,962
    Member #
    19
    Liked
    7945 times
    Device
    United States SCH-I535
    I thought it had to be changed through your router as Miller originally suggested. Tethering apps are a different story, very easy to change within the apps settings.
    Sorry, can't offer any other suggestions than what's already been suggested.



    Welcome to the Galaxy S3 Forums!

    Guidelines of Conduct





 

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Shows how big the root community is.
    By 95chevy in forum Off Topic Forum
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 10-26-2012, 07:33 PM
  2. s3 device storage
    By popoy in forum Galaxy S3 General Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-15-2012, 09:41 AM
  3. SONY ECM-AW3 Wireless Microphone
    By patsw in forum Galaxy S3 Accessories
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-30-2012, 09:22 PM
  4. wireless hotspot?
    By Assassin in forum Galaxy S3 Apps
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 07-23-2012, 11:44 PM
  5. Wireless charging
    By cereal killer in forum Galaxy S3 Accessories
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 06-22-2012, 07:05 AM

Search tags for this page

cereal killer wi fi
,
change android device name router
,
device name sec30cda71e0869
,
do routers show the name of the device that used the wifi
,
does the router show the name of the device
,
galaxy s3 change name of network
,

galaxy s3 wifi name

,
how to change devive name on a samsung galaxy s3
,
s3 rename wifi name
,
s3 wi fi change id
,

samsung galaxy s3 wifi name

,
the router showed my device name hut i dont have that device
Click on a term to search for related topics.

Tags for this Thread