Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register
Reigster at Galaxy S3 Forums
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: 4G / 3G Toggle

  1. #1
    Senior Member DeJavu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    405
    Member #
    202
    Liked
    52 times
    Device
    United States SCH-I535

    Red face 4G / 3G Toggle

    Debian Dog, CR6, muicha and 1 others like this.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Debian Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Powhatan, VA
    Posts
    817
    Member #
    179
    Liked
    163 times
    Twitter
    DebianDog
    Cool!
    app called Phone Info works like a charm. Install it, open it, and head into “Device information.” From there, you’ll need to scroll down to the pull down menu which probably says “LTE/CDMA/EvDo” and choose “CDMA auto (PRL)” to turn your phone into a 3G, battery saving machine.

  3. #3
    Administrator CR6's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    14,730
    Member #
    19
    Liked
    7779 times
    Device
    United States SCH-I535
    Thanks Deja!



    Welcome to the Galaxy S3 Forums!

    Guidelines of Conduct




  4. #4
    Senior Member muicha's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    106
    Member #
    217
    Liked
    69 times
    Thank you for this!!!

  5. #5
    Administrator Jeffrey's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Thailand
    Posts
    3,145
    Member #
    71
    Liked
    953 times
    Device
    International GT-I9300
    Nice find De

  6. #6
    Senior Member M@31's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    253
    Member #
    300
    Liked
    25 times
    If you bought a 4G LTE phone, why do you want to change it to a 3G?
    Why wouldnt you save some money and just get the 3G?


    For me, the 4G phone is actually better (quad core 2GB) as opposed to the 3G, only 1GB.

    But for others, what is the point in getting a 4G if you just change it to 3G?
    Sent from my Galaxy S of the 3rd variety.

  7. #7
    Senior Member Debian Dog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Powhatan, VA
    Posts
    817
    Member #
    179
    Liked
    163 times
    Twitter
    DebianDog
    Because your battery life goes three times faster when you're sucking on 4G. If I am in town I need version be able to receive phone calls without my phone dying, I'm not worried about surfing the Internet .

    Sent from my SCH-I535

  8. #8
    Senior Member DeJavu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    405
    Member #
    202
    Liked
    52 times
    Device
    United States SCH-I535
    I think it runs a little cooler in 3G mode also. Like DD said about the battery. I refuse to have to plug in everywhere I am to keep the phone from dying. Although, I'm a light user most of the time.
    Also it is just as quick and easy to change back to 4G mode when I need to surf quicker than 3G runs.

    Great question of why to switch though.

  9. #9
    Senior Member M@31's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    South Korea
    Posts
    253
    Member #
    300
    Liked
    25 times
    But what I mean is, why didn't you just buy the 3G version of the phone then?

    Sorry, I'm not trying to be rude. I really am just curious.
    Sent from my Galaxy S of the 3rd variety.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Goose306's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Missoula, MT
    Posts
    1,101
    Member #
    212
    Liked
    944 times
    Device
    United States SCH-I535
    Quote Originally Posted by M@31 View Post
    But what I mean is, why didn't you just buy the 3G version of the phone then?

    Sorry, I'm not trying to be rude. I really am just curious.
    Well for one if you're on VZW you don't have a choice.

    Beyond that though 4G is awesome it just sucks battery life. So when we don't need the speed (ie when idle) we can toggle it on/off to save battery life and on when needed.

    Sent from my SCH-I535


 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 08-20-2012, 05:11 PM

Search tags for this page

3g toggle samsung galaxy s3
,
4g toggle galaxy s3
,
change galaxy s3 to 3g
,
disable 4g on i535
,

galaxy s3 3g toggle

,
how to change from 4g to 3g on korean samsung galaxy s3
,
samsung galaxy s3 3g toggle
,
samsung galaxy s3 4g toggle
,
switch galaxy s3 to 3g
,
switch to 3g galaxy s3
,
verizon galaxy s3 3g toggle
,
why cant gs3 toogle 4g/3g
Click on a term to search for related topics.